South Dublin County Council

South Dublin County Council was established in 1994 and is the third largest local authority in the Ireland covering an area of 222.74 square kilometers. Its population is growing and currently stands at 265,174 (Census 2011). This represents a 7.4% increase since the last census in 2006. The Council has assets of 3.7 billion and provides services to over 90,000 households and over 6,000 businesses. As a Council we are committed to an interagency approach to maximize the effective delivery of services to ensure that South Dublin County is a great place to live, work, invest in and visit.

The South Dublin County Council Social Inclusion Unit commenced operation in late January 2002, as part of the Community Services Department where it works in close collaboration with the RAPID Co-ordinators, Community Teams, the County Development Board Office and Arts and Sports Offices to deliver outputs. Based in County Hall, Tallaght, the role of the Social Inclusion Unit is to raise awareness and promote a better understanding of social inclusion and poverty throughout South Dublin County Council.


Maria Finn Sandra Hickey
Senior Staff Officer Staff Officer

Ph: 01 4149270/086 3803060
E-mail: and